2018 Golden Baobab Prize Longlist Announced

2018 Golden Baobab Prize Longlist

Accra, December 7, 2018The Golden Baobab Prize today announces its 2018 Longlist. The Prize, considered as one of the most respected awards in the African children’s literature industry, champions opportunities for African writers and illustrators to produce more culturally-relevant children’s books. The 2018 Golden Baobab Prize Longlist features twelve African children’s authors and illustrators from six countries across the continent. They are:

 The Golden Baobab Prize for Picture Books

  • Adeola Adeyemo, Nigeria - The Clock Can’t Jump Through Time

  • Thandazile Sakhile Mpofu, Zimbabwe - Think Before You Act, Kuku!

  • Sharon Salu, Nigeria - Koko’s Head

  • Marie Pelagie Elimbi Moudio, Cameroon - The Water Festival

The Golden Baobab Prize for Early Chapter Books

  • Warũgũrũ Mũchĩra, Kenya - Akinyi

  • David Kwakye, Ghana - Keeper of the Gates

  • Ayo Oyeku, Nigeria - The Era of the Afrocubs

  • Lorna Likiza, Kenya - Oi Gets Lost

The Golden Baobab Prize for African Illustrators

The Golden Baobab Prize invites entries of unpublished stories and illustrations by African citizens irrespective of age, race, gender or country of origin. It offers cash prizes as well as publishing opportunities to outstanding entries. This year, the Prize received over 300 new and original stories and illustrations from 17 African countries. The 2018 Jury, made up of prominent international publishing and literary professionals, went through a rigorous process to evaluate this year’s entries. The winners of the Golden Baobab Prize will be announced on December 15th, 2018.